Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Pinterest…it can be a valuable tool and a complete time waster all at the same time. I can’t tell you how often I’ve lost track of time while scouring the internet and pinterest for ideas and inspiration!

This pin had me searching for pieces to paint! And today was the perfect day to try my hand at making homemade chalk paint!

Here are the pieces I experimented on.

Mid Century Bookcase - Before

Mid Century Bookcase – Before

Some Crafty

The recipe was pretty straight forward. I used 1 part Plaster of Paris and 3 parts paint. I scored the paint during a previous trip to the Habitat for Humanity ReStore in Ottawa. I love checking out all the paints and hardware there. You never know what you’ll find.

Some Crafty

Here are the pieces with a few coats of paint on them. What I like about chalk paint is that it is easy to work with and is pretty forgiving.

Some Crafty

Some Crafty

I have yet to wax and distress the pieces as I’m still deciding if I am going to paint the inside of the shelves or not. I’m thinking the Duck Egg Blue from Annie Sloan that I picked up on the weekend would be just beautiful! And I’ll probably leave the wood unpainted on the top of the credenza.

Stay tuned for the finished product!

~Angie

