Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been collecting antiques and furniture for a while with the intent to paint them. I just love to be able to be creative and artistic and refinishing furniture has given me so many opportunities to do just that. I’ve refinished many pieces in our home, including our dining table and chairs, our bedroom furniture, my youngest son’s dresser, and some of our living room furniture. Needless to say, I have the painting bug!!

Enter this vanity I picked up at a local thrift store…who donates the proceeds to Mental Health! A win-win in my books! This beauty needed a bit of work. The veneer was peeling, there were pieces that needed some glue, and a little tlc all over. But she had beautiful lines!

Before

Before

First things first, she needed a good wipe down! And doesn’t everyone feel better after a bath? I removed the hardware and started to work on the peeling veneer. After a quick google search, I decided that the ironing method would be my best bet. And it worked like a charm. The old peeling veneer came off and she was looking better and better. A beautiful wooden medallion (for some bling), a bit of wood glue to fix some loose pieces, and some wood filler to smooth out the surface and we were ready for some color!

After a good cleaning

After a good cleaning

A little bling to dress her up

A little bling to dress her up

Painting the top...she's gonna be purdy!

Painting the top…she’s gonna be purdy!

I chose a beautiful blue with off-white accents to make this piece pop! The drawer pulls got a good cleaning and a coat of paint too. A bit of furniture wax to seal and protect the finish, and she’s ready for a photo shoot! She certainly is stunning and fit for a princess!

Voila!  Fit for a princess!

Voila! Fit for a princess!

Some Crafty

Some Crafty

Some Crafty

She is off to her new home this weekend. I just know she will be loved and adored. Now, on to the next project!

~Angie

Linking up to:

Home Stories A to Z
Hickory Trail

http://www.artsychicksrule.com/2013/05/happy-monday-project-inspired-linky-party-14.html

